One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Putting on a brave face

I had just headed off for a new (to us) forest walk with Luca when Mimi rang to say that Finn had just closed the back door on two of his fingers and that they might be broken. 
I did a u-turn and was back home in about 7 minutes. There were still tears but they were beginning to recede. 
It turned out that he had close the door on his fingers that were on the hinge side, which is definitely painful. I checked each phalanx (squeezed and measured the decibels on the phone app) and it looked like he was going to survive after all (anyone who can repeatedly hit over 95 decibels on my phone app has obviously not fainted). 
Mimi and I fashioned a makeshift splint and he refused to swallow a Neurofen but opted for Calpol instead (the strong stuff, the 6+) The swearing and categorical refusal at the thought of swallowing a little pill was a sure sign of recovery. 
The tears came back when I stated that a forest walk, in addition to the splint, would offer the best chances of prompt recovery. 
We did compromise on a walk to the university gardens. And he suggested bringing the tennis rackets, so I know that he was on the mend. 
He has not taken off the splint and is now playing GTA 5 on the Xbox with all his fingers, so all is well. 

In other news, I remembered this morning to download the video of a fellow diver at the Forty Foot. I thought at first that belly flopping was an accident but upon witnessing it being repeated over a dozen times with the exact same angle of entry, BS and I decided that this was actually his signature dive. I'm well impressed with the consistency. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.