Day Today

By Feathers14

Things Aren't So Black & White, Anymore

I really, really, really, really suck at colour editing. I have no idea what it is, but my eyes are just screwed up and I can't for the life of me figure out what the hell is wrong with this picture.

So you can relate, this is the wall that I was shooting and that is the colour that it is supposed to be. Jesus, no wonder I was shooting in B&W. Incidentally the reason why this isn't monochrome is because a) it doesn't look as nice and b) I do think the red/orange mess is interesting.

---------------

Today: Wake up and have breakfast consisting of yesterday's leftovers (meatballs in a chilli sauce) and muck around online for too long. Get my haircut and spend far too much money in Tesco, all before skyping with Eve.

She told something that I really needed to hear: that I need to get off my butt and start doing some work. So, I walked on to campus to F211 to meet The Bro and Mahfood, and get some work done. Work got done. This is a good thing.

After work I went for a bit of breaking and damn, it was good to be back! It's been a while since I've been training and yeah, being back was awesome. I head-butted the floor, and have a great bruise developing on my knee, wrist and ankle, but that's what it's about. I was a bit ropey to begin with, but I'm still making progress and I'm tantilisingly close to the next move I'm trying to get. More progress will be made over Easter (when I'm not revising), I hope.

Peace

-------------------------

MINIMALISM! Whoop whoop! Back to what I love. The vignetting is natural, as you can see from The Bro's picture there is a spotlight that shines down casting the shadow, I didn't get carried away in Lightroom. There is one thing that really bugs me about this shot, and it's the same problem that I had with this shot, too: you can see the side of the left-hand socket box and it really pisses me off. I need more of a tele lens so I can stand further away and get a front-on perspective without screwing up the rest of the shot. It could definitely be worse, but it's these small details that (for me) make the difference between a good shot and a great one.

There is a lot I need to work on, in my photography - the whole colour correction/editing shebang and these other smaller details.

Looking at it now, I really hate the barrelling of the horizontal line on the wall, too... Sigh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.