kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Hard steamed eggs

I had been wanting to locate a stove top steamer for some time. I wanted to try steaming clams. Seems pretty easy - so off I went to the Goodwill thrift store to see if I could find one. It must have been "steamer day" as the store I visited just happened to have about a dozen to choose from.

So I looked over the whole collection, and found a steamer basket, pot to receive the basket, and a properly fitting lid - all for the tidy sum of about $8. Not bad at all as a new one would run somewhere around $50 - 100.

I was curious what else I could do with my new / used steamer besides just cooking clams. I ended up finding a link that described how to hard steam eggs INSTEAD of boiling them.

The advantages being, easier to peel eggs, and NO graying of the yoke. I put five eggs in the basket and let them steam for about 10 minutes, before plunging them into cool water. The eggs turned out fantastic.

Now I'm off to try steaming my first batch of clams.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.