Ristosan's Journal

By ristosan

The Swan of Tuonela

by Jean Sibelius

Today we visited the Juselius Mausoleum in Pori. The mausoleum was built for the tomb of Sigrid Juselius, the rich man's daughter who died when she was only eleven. The decorations were made by Akseli Gallen-Kallela. I had visited the mausoleum at the age of perhaps 9 i.e. about 60 years ago the last time and I was in awe and also horror about the painting on the left showing people about to pass from the living to the dead over the river of Tuonela (land of the dead). The people had to strip naked as they ´could take nothing with them. I remember this painting haunting me for years as a kid. Today the painting felt so natural and acceptable.. Perhaps at 9 I was afraid of passing away at 11? In any case, the mausoleum made again an impression especially as there was a female guide who told my wife (also in the picture looking down at the coffin of Sigrid Juselius) and me about the history of the mausoleum and also the paintings (actually murals).

By the way the painting also shows the red swan of Tuonela in the left swimming on the black river of Tuonela.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.