The Eagle's Roost

Once the eagle shows
up, what's the point in looking
any further now?

~ carliewired

I pushed the garbage bins out to the curb at 6 AM and made my getaway. Air quality was rated as 2. That is much improved over yesterday's 5 in the late afternoon. It's warmer this morning at 19 C. Perhaps that cloud cover overnight kept the heat in. 

I drove over to Mission Flats on the south shore of the Thompson River. I wanted  a look at the morning sun if it showed through. I parked in my usual spot across from the airport traffic control tower. I opened the car door and there he was, an adult eagle in all his majesty! 

I forgot about everything else on offer. I missed the deer crossing the road on my way over. I forgot about the cute little wildflowers on the roadside struggling to survive the drought. I have to remind myself to breathe once I get my camera aimed at an eagle. There is really nothing to compare in my mind. This one kindly obliged me as I walked around getting my shots. Then, he silently soared down and over the river and was gone. I will be walking in the warm afterglow for the rest of my day. 

I grabbed breakfast at the drive-thru and was home to listen to the 7 AM news in my kitchen. 

When my daughter is up we'll have another go at my clutter and disorganization. 

We're expecting a high of 26 C with a 30% chance of showers and a risk of a thunderstorm in the afternoon. How much smoke rolls in is anybody's guess. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.