One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Shine Bright

Back into the town centre for today's elephant, Shine Bright, which celebrates many aspects of the town.

The carnival arts feathered headdress that the elephant wears makes reference to the Luton International Carnival. The blue and orange colour scheme represents Luton Town Football Club. The diversity trees on the legs are made up of hands in acknowledgement of Luton’s varied blend of people and cultures. Fireworks adorn the elephant’s robe, from which also hang ‘charms’, portraying the industries, past and present, that have established Luton as a thriving commercial town.

I had "the letter" today from the hospital, giving me the date for my operation, which is set for Tuesday 14th September. With only 5 more big elephants to grab, I should have got all of the large ones before then. I probably won't do the small ones, they are all located indoors and those that I have seen are not well positioned to photograph, up against windows and similar places. Now I just have to prepare for the big day when the urologist gets to play Star Wars inside me.

Part of the celebrations of the 30th anniversary of the local hospice, as well as a fundraiser for them.

This one is described here.

The hospice is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.