FLOWER FRIDAY - BLOWING IN THE WIND

It’s always difficult to get a good shot of a flower when the wind is blowing, but I decided to try.  We have quite a few tall flowers blooming in the garden and these Helianthus, Lemon Queen, are no exception.  Mr. HCB keeps saying that we should move them but I like them just where they are, so I can see there could be a “difference of opinion” about these.

This shot was taken using Portrait mode and all I have done is cropped it a little with no other editing except to add a frame.  Helianthus are very graceful when they are swaying in the wind and very pleasing to the eye - so this is my offering for Flower Friday.  

I need to return some lights we bought in Salisbury a couple of weeks ago, so I will be going into the town centre for only the second time in 18 months, but Mr. HCB has agreed to give me a lift, because I’m not that keen on catching a bus.

He is presently picking beans and peas in the garden, having already picked blackberries, blueberries and strawberries, cucumbers and tomatoes - it’s lovely to have all this produce, but it’s now a toss up between home-cooked ham, eggs and vegetables or ham, eggs and salad for our evening meal.  It’s quite a chilly day, so it might be hot with vegetables, although a salad is easier to prepare.  Either way, we won’t go hungry!

An update on the donations for my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which as you know, I was doing to raise awareness and funds for the Mamie Martin Fund, which provides a good secondary school education for impoverished girls in North Malawi.  It presently stands at an amazing £998.70 and Mr. HCB hasn’t sponsored me yet!  Thank you once again to everyone who donated - I am so grateful to you all.  M xx 

“A flower does not use words 
     to announce its arrival to the world; 
          it just blooms." 
Matshona Dhliwayo

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.