One Street: Firehouse Performing Arts Center

At the corner of 14th Street and Harris Avenue (my One Street), you'll find the Firehouse Performing Arts Center, housed in a 1927 fire station that was remodeled and reopened in 2004 to provide space for classes, workshops, and events; a cafe; and a massage therapy practice.

I was on my way to an appointment, but had a few extra minutes, so I parked the car, took today's photo, then walked over to the front door of the building, where I saw a sign advertising this special today in the cafe. Naturally, I had to buy a piece to take home and try, and as I had only $2 in cash and credit/debit cards weren't accepted, I had to write a check -- so I also bought a peach and cinnamon muffin and an apricot almond scone. Phil and I shared the latter after lunch, and we can attest to its quality!

All the baked goods are made on site, and the appealing cafe is an added inducement to return -- and this time stay a while.

(Here's a full-length view of the building from 14th Street -- the red roof tiles came from a building at Western Washington University here in Bellingham, which was getting a new roof. I especially like that feature as it reminds me of villages we've stayed in on our trips to southern France!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.