helenann

By helenann

Cheyney Court

This morning I made  bramble jelly from the  blackberries we picked yesterday. This afternoon I cycled into Winchester to do a bit of shopping and returned home via the  Cathedral Close. At the end of the Close furthest from  the high street is the 15th century Prior's Gate and   Cheyney Court . Still, after nearly forty years of living here, I always feel  a little thrill when I turn away from the  cathedral, go round the  corner, and see these lovely buildings again, and  sense  I am in a time warp in this bit of the City. Through the Prior's  gate is another, even older, Kingsgate, with the tiny church of  St Swithun's above, which marks the start of Winchester College's buildings. Also  very nearby, in College Street, is the house  where Jane Austen spent  her final  few weeks. 
I can picture her walking, (if not jogging in lycra,)   through this gate way on her way to the cathedral, and  stopping and turning to admire Cheyney Court,too.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.