Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Matryoshka again

The girls stayed overnight last night again. The first thing Isobel said when she got here was could she please see the special doll I'd told her about. We took her apart and put her back together again last night and I explained that she was very special and was going to live here until Isobel was a bit older.
They slept well and Isobel appeared in my room at a very respectable 7.15 am today. Eilidh wanted just 2 minutes more sleep apparently! We got the doll out again by special request and Isobel is putting her back together again with great concentration. It's interesting, her automatic reaction on trying to put her back together meant picking up the biggest doll first - that doesn't work of you think about it! I'm sure Piaget would have a theory about that.
We made it to school on time by the skin of our teeth this morning, phew! I haven't failed that grandma test with the P1 teacher, just the one about giving her a healthy snack - Kitkats are healthy aren't they! :-((( fail.
I had a meeting in Kinross today so headed up there. Had a very pleasant lunch in a Garden Centre which was just west of Kinross. Very tasty. Having been Lay Director of Cursillo for over two years I have finally collected the files from the previous incumbent. Having read them while sitting in the garden in the sunshine this afternoon, I haven't missed much by not having them.
More positive tests again, over 5000 in 24 hours. That's a huge number and they are now suggesting that evidence shows immunity is already starting to go down in those of us who have had two vaccines.
What a roller coaster this last eighteen months has been. I can remember the feelings of claustrophobia and panic when we first went into lockdown. The physical yearning for a hug from my daughters who wouldn't come any closer than two metres. Who would have thought it would all still be going on, all this time later. The scientists are doing a wonderful job and I'm very grateful, but I do wish we could come to some stability again.
Meanwhile in Afghanistan...... - where they have to deal with covid too remember, that must feel like the least of their problems.
Keep safe everyone and keep going!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.