Nymph Shieldbug

I think it's a common green shieldbug nearly at its adult stage. Whatever it is, it's chomping its way through the leaves of the healthier of the two morning glory plants I managed to salvage. I blame May's unseasonably cold weather for the morning glory carnage. This one is doing well now and producing flowers (extra). I will be evicting the shieldbug in case it does too much damage.

An unusual day today. We are, after much thought, discussion, weighing of risk vs. benefit and lateral flow testing, preparing to go away for a week. We will be setting off tomorrow unless anything unexpected crops up. Packing, house cleaning, contacting kind neighbours who keep an eye on things, cutting back plants to tidy the garden and so on will keep me out of mischief.

We have been in touch with the people we know where we're going. They want sensible and responsible visitors. That's what we plan to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.