Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Hard labour!

Today I was in Karonga on the shores of Lake Malawi. Its World Water Day and I certainly knew it as we had torrential rain during the night, there is water flowing off the cliffs and fast flowing water in the rivers and the edges of lake Malawi are brown with the muddy water being pumped into it. The lake is called the calendar lake because it is 365 miles long, 52 miles wide at the widest point and has 12 major rivers flowing into it.

It is ironic that with so much water in our country, a small percentage of the population have access to clean water! I am in one of the 'cities' and I have to filter and boil my water before I can drink it!

However, due to the weather I did not manage to get a picture of our beautiful lake as I had planned. I had a chance to wander down to the lakeside and passed through a garden with rice paddies, maize and sweet potatoes growing. This Agogo (grandmother) was busy hoeing her small plot and I asked if I could take her photo. She was very concerned about who would see it and I told her I wanted people to see how difficult it was for Agogos' in Malawi. With that she was delighted and let me take this picture! I have no idea what age she is but it is obvious that life is not easy for her especially in this time of hunger before the harvest season!

So this is the blip for the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.