Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Wriggly Dilema

'I don't believe it, I just don't believe it!' and also many words to that effect under my breath as I opened the back of the camera!

Having braved the elements today and armed with hand warmers, hot flask of coffee (very kindly prepared by Hubs who was no way going out into that weather!) I donned layers of clothes in the car park of Slimbridge with rain and biting wind blowing gustily. It was then I opened the back of the camera just to check..as you do. There was no battery in there... and I knew I didn't have a spare!! Yes I was furious with myself but also resigned that I couldn't take even one shot. Strangely it was one of those scenarios that you knew was bound to happen one day.

Having gone home, it's not just round the corner, and picked up another battery, I was quite relieved seeing my little lapwing here just asking to be blipped. You see lapwings in flocks in the sky and you see them in the fields feeding over farmland as they are gregarious birds but I have never seen them so up close and personal as I did today! You just can't get close to them.

Adopting the stealth tactics of a seasoned blipper (257 today!) I just hoped I could capture him before he got wind of me and took flight or even was carried away by the wind! He gave me a couple of nice poses before winging it! Not before he had this huge worm though! I got a capture - he got a capture ...result!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.