pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Crumbs

Today had been designated as a day of rest. A day to be spent in resplendent sloth-like isolation with the only movement being to brush the biscuit crumbs from my t-shirt every now and then.

First, there was some blipping action to catch up on as whilst I’ve been posting on my jollies, I’ve not been great at keeping up with everyone else’s journals, but from what I saw this morning everyone seems to be doing fine and enjoying the Bank Holiday weekend, so great job everyone!

Inspired by your good work, I donned my Domestic God Pants and began folding me some washing, hoovering the place and doing the thing I hate the most……dusting. Dusting is the the single most tedious activity anyone can engage in. I should know. One of my first jobs was pot washer and that was more fun than dusting. Fun fact: it is also the only job I have ever been fired from on account of failing to wash the floor one night. My flimsy defence of “but my job is pot washer not floor washer” failed to hold up.

Having put in a shift, and then phoned (remember when we used phones to speak to people?) for a catch-up with family and friends, I showered up and decided I’d earned some posh snacks, so went to M&S (another aspirational middle-class flair-up) for the same, picking up some minute steaks and decent bread. Disappointed at the lack of cooking instructions for the steaks but I muddled through…

The afternoon was lost to sandwich chomping, biscuit munching and aforementioned crumb brushing whilst binging The White Lotus and the latest series of the continually charming Atypical.

I thought I should get at least a little more fresh air, so with Ludovico Einaudi in my ears once more, I did my river and castle walk and found this bike. It had clearly been fished out from the river at quite a tricky point, but having gone to the trouble of fishing it out, it had then been left here for some reason? Maybe for someone to use for a borderline emergency blip?

Back to work tomorrow after a fabulous break, but it doesn’t scare me and you know why? 

I’ve got biscuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.