Grobust

Grobust beach is one of Westray's best spots. Just a short walk out of the village takes you to this stretch of white sand with its lovely stones and rock formations. To the west I suppose next stop is Newfoundland. I've seen the waves here more exciting than they were today but it was bracing enough walking along the beach. The headland you see in the background is the north end of the island where the airfield is situated.

The extra is a lovely lapwing in the field behind the beach.

Before this I'd walked in the opposite direction to Pierowall Fish and bought a monkfish tail which I'll cook for this evening's meal. Looking forward to that. I'll take myself off for a walk before I cook and probably after. You'd think with all this fresh air I'd sleep like a log but that seems not to be happening. Very irritating but at least I have a perfect view for my ridiculously early starts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.