Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Fence

This dilapidated fence runs into Lake Ellesmere at the end of Drain Road. We chose this as a good spot to put our kayak into the water and paddle round the lakeshore. This time of year it can be hard going because the water is shallow at the best of times, and now the lake level is low. Heaps of bird life, though. I should have taken the camera out on the water with us, as it was a beautiful, calm morning, but I didn't, so missed getting shots of flocks of birds flying off at our approach. I suppose they are so flighty because they are used to duck shooters in the area.

I chose to go black and white because the colours were a bit bland, but there looked to be a good range of tones. I had to darken the sky, though, because I lost the deep blue shading to almost white in the original colour shot when I converted to b & w.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.