Brotographer

By Brotographer

The ever-persisting fight of Axel vs. the colors.

KANDINSKY!
My grandma, mom and me went to see an exhibition on Wassily Kandinsky's work and its evolution over time. Really interesting, since I'd never really looked at his work or studied it. Having only started painting in his 30s, he nevertheless managed to pioneer abstract art, from Russia, Germany and France. I gotta say, his work is impressive, especially his blends of color (ironic considering my general enmity with color nowadays. see yesterday's blip). I was more impressed by his early 1900s transitional work though, as such, than the innovative Miro-esque abstract work he is more know for, as such. His use of bright colors really nails the lighting in some of his pieces, and they look beautiful in real life. <insert more ranting about how internet ruins the true colors and depth of paintings> Overall, an interesting exhibition!

After that, my mom and me went to pick up some plaster and paint from an art store on the way home. I'll be painting one of the old cupboards in the next two weeks, like my sister did last time. But as I assume you already guessed, my painting will be BLACK AND WHITE! And that's despite all the great colorful Kandinsky paintings I saw. I guess I'll explain in a later blip.

We also picked up some chocolate, man its so good and cheap here in Brussels! Rest of the evening was relaxed. Skyped my man Take at night, all the way in Japan, good stories. Made me miss Tokyo a whole lot though, wish I could just head back there tomorrow and chill. Damn it, I'll just make some of this when I'm back in leam. Red Eye!

Oh, and the photo. Palais de la Justice, viewed from Royale. Yeah, you can guess the thought process behind this one. What's interesting about the photo is apart from the black and white conversion, the only sort of editing I did was dodging. I wanted to preserve the grayscale depth and not ruin it with contrast and such. Its something I don't do often enough really.

peace


PS. I finally withdrew from going to Monash today. Bye bye Australia, I'm staying at Warwick for sure now... That was painful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.