England is the new Finland.

We've had a lot of snow here. And this blip was very hard won. You'd better like it!

It did finally stop snowing mid-afternoon and that was a cue to get out on the moor to see just what nature had created in the last 36 hours. The snow has been very fine and that has given the wind great scope for sculpting the most improbable shapes. I've been running and jogging and walking and crawling amidst a world of snow dunes.

The wind has scoured the snow from some places to pile it up into drifts in others. The snow is so fine indeed, that at times I disappeared up to my waist. There was one point where it felt like quicksnow, the more I struggled to extract myself the deeper I sunk! I had to crawl out of that one! I wouldn't have lasted long in this weather if I'd got stuck!

It was bitterly cold on the top. I took pictures until I could no longer use my hands. I had intended to go across the flags to the top of the Keighley Gate Road but progress was so slow and exhausting that I turned back at the Twelve Apostles. I was very happy to return home and thaw out, although I had to endure that painful period during which the hands come back to life. It was as wild up on the moors today as I have ever known it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.