Ingleman

By Ingleman

Time's Gone By

Before you start, the apostophe is correct, and as intended.

I had no idea what to blip today. Not really feeling it. It has been a day of  blah, really. We have been waiting in all day for the surveyor to call and make the first inspection of the footing on our garage before commencing the main building work on the new extension. He will be there any time after 10.00am they said. We can't promise what time they said. It could be morning. Or afternoon, they said.
Blah, blah, blah.

As I type this at 19.17 pm he hasn't arrived and clearly won't now. They are not open on Saturday. Or Sunday. So I can't use profanity on the phone or abuse anybody or find out what is going on. Until Monday morning. Ho hum, I suppose that is only to be expected. Does anyone do as they promise nowadays.

I looked through my 'box of stuff' and selected this charming old watch, as my blip. It belonged to my mother and we found it when clearing her house nine years ago. I am fascinated by it. The box is clearly battered, the  watch is clearly very old and is of very unusual design. An octagonal mount and bezel, with roman numerals contained within a cirque of tiny gold painted pips, with diamond painted pips at the quarter hour points. It is mainly mother of pearl and an unidentified metal. Not brass as it would be more tarnished than it is. Inside the box and under the watch is the word Jull.  My great grandfather's name. Wow, there is some history here. I have another job of investigation to add to the list. All very interesting. It is a lovely thing and I hope to find out more, and will blip the results in due course.

Friday. 

Weekend tomorrow. The digging commences. Inspection or not. I can't cancel the labour, they were booked on weeks ago. In for a penny, in for a pound. I am digging myself in deep, methinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.