A day in the life

By Shelling

Lund

It was lovely to meet Elaine yesterday, my dearest and oldest friend in Lund. Time wise the oldest, because we've known each other since I was twenty and literally oldest because she's eighty in november. I try to see her every time I'm in Lund, at least twice a year, sometimes we meet, sometimes we don't. Because of the pandemic we haven't seen each other in a long time so we had a lot to talk about but, as always, we ended up talking more about the now and the future than we do about the past. She came to Lund during the seventies and fell in love both with the city and with my best friend and decided to stay in Sweden to work as a teacher. 

Her home is full of beautiful things, some are memories and gifts but most of them are gathered because they mean something special to her and some is just beautiful "in the way the light shines through them". This time she had put up lots of little lights and solar cell lamps at her entrance and all over her veranda so it was a lovely view to arrive to last night. She told me where to buy one of them and put it on the table for me to take a picture of and when I got home I saw it was the only picture taken today, She's not meant to be in the picture but I'm glad she is. After having lunch I left for home and drove the 300 km in one go this time. 
Lovely to be home after a well spent journey south.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.