Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

A mug of coffee

When we bought the espresso machine (this one broke, we're on a posher one now), none of our ordinary mugs fitted under the nozzle.  I had to get some little mugs.  And then during a sort out, I realised that this one - which was at the back of the cupboard - also fits.  It hadn't seen much use, because it was too small for a satisfying cup of instant coffee.  

It's Hornsea pottery, called a Love mug, one of a set of twelve, one for each month, produced late 70s, early 80s.  It's October, because that's my birth month.  When we were young, we visited Hornsea regularly - it was just near enough to be a "day out" from our home in Bingley.  We would enjoy watching the pottery being made, and my memory suggests there were flamingos (and maybe other exotic animal/birds) on the site.  There was a factory shop, with lots of seconds.  My parents would make occasional purchases.

But by the late 70s, I would have have been at university, or even fully left home and working.  I presume my parents bought this as a present at some stage - I don't know if either of my siblings had a similar one.

I rather enjoy using it.  The other mugs that fit the Espresso machine are china, and more delicate to drink from, but this one has memories - albeit sketchy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.