pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Stink Hand D

I’d already blipped prior to the theft of the nation’s hearts last night by the fearless, peerless; Emma Raducanu.

What a match and what an outcome! Her resolve to dig deep at the highest level after three tough weeks was just incredible. Totally in awe of her and it will be fascinating to see how her career progresses from here.

Whilst not quite in the same league as her accomplishments, today I managed to complete everything I wanted to this weekend (including some bonus and unanticipated catching up with old friends) and am feeling pretty darned chuffed with meself and ready for the week ahead. 

There was a slight mishap in Asda when the pot of “lazy” garlic I picked up immediately leaked all over my hand. The plus side of having a sticky garlicky hand as you mooch about is a lot of space and vastly reduced vampire attacks. The downside is: you stink.

Munching a strawberry cornetto as I headed out on the river walk to Hawes Bridge around midday, I was slightly perturbed to see Lound Road closed off and Police and Fire crews in attendance, appearing to fish something out of the river. From discussions with fellow onlookers (this is easily the most interesting thing to happen in town for a while) there was a school of thought about potential leakage from the adjacent garage forecourt. Sincerely hope that isn’t the case, particularly given the lovely stroll I had, which gave up a shot of a cormorant (I think?) and a heron. I also sat for a while on a rock at river level and just took in the tranquillity as a kingfisher zipped along the opposite bank. 

I’ve walked, rested, tidied, cooked for the week ahead and walked some more and I’m now due a crash on the sofa to continue my viewing odyssey of the American version of The Office which somehow passed me by first time around.

I still smell like garlic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.