Rugby à XIII

IIn May 1973 when I was working in Toulouse, I took it into my head to go to the (French) Rugby League Championship Final. I was curious. 

I had never seen a live game before because on our side of the Channel it was only played in the north of England. The final was at the Stadium Municipal in Toulouse, so it was a short walk from home. Toulouse Olympique XIII was one of the finalists. 

TO XIII won that day. 

Fast forward to September 2021 and TO XIII were top of the (English) Championship, which is the 2nd Division of the English game, and playing their last league game at 10th placed Newcastle Thunder. I decided to go. 

It turned out to be Men v Boys, and TO XIII hammered Newcastle 82-12. Sometimes such a one sided game can be tedious, but TO XIII produced a great display of power combined with skill and I had to admire it. 

After they game they were presented with the league trophy to take home on the plane. Ironically, Dragons Catalans from Perpignan have won the equivalent Super League trophy. Must be a Brexit thing. 

It was my first live sporting event since March 2020, so it was a bit of a milestone. The crowd was sparse so health was never a concern.   

My Blip is not much to get excited about. I did not take my camera and my i-Phone does not cope with zooming. Some of the crowd abandoned social distancing to mark the occasion, but I did not join them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.