JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 264: Cucamelon

The cucamelon plant on my balcony may not produce many edible fruits, but it has been a delight to observe. It's an unplanned experiment, a surplus plant given by a neighbour, and it has been putting out tiny, twirling tendrils which twist, spiral and wrap themselves around anything they can find. It now has quite a number of fruits: this is one of the bigger ones, a bit over 2 cm long, and I like the gift-wrapped impression created by the tendrils and the decorative markings on the skin. I'm not sure how I will know when they are ready to eat: according to the RHS website, they grow to the size of large grapes and can be eaten with cocktails. Cocktails are not on my menu, but perhaps they will be good with crackers and cheese. Any advice would be welcome. The extra shows the twining tendrils nicely but is not well focused on the fruit: I'm continuing to practise with my new macro lens, and am struggling a bit with focus on the really close up shots, as my eyes are not up to manual but the autofocus often doesn't seem to focus exactly where I intended.  

Thank you Jill JDO for hosting Tiny Tuesday.                                                                    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.