Appreciation

By Appreciation

Near Oxford Road Station is all I know about this scene. I have spent the most relaxing, restorative weekend with the lovely Scarlet Haberdashery in her newly adopted home town of Manchester, and despite the hugely potholed roads and buses in need of greater suspension, I think my neck feels a lot better. Thank you Miss Haberdashery.

Manchester was full of incredible architecture, and I was drawn by the variety of windows and coloured glass in them. The richness of the red brick is such an English trait, we don't do so much red brick in Scotland and in fact our houses look quite different.

I loved that Scarlet Haberdashery's house had a back yard and beyond that an alleyway, just like they do on Coronation Street.

After Friday night's Speed of Light event I didn't do much with my camera. I was too busy chatting and taking in all that the city had to offer. We had delicious cake, curry and our traditional breakfast. I loved the walk around the Asian supermarket and filled my bag with goodies that just aren't readily available. My boy is very pleased with his 'Ding Dong' bubblegum and I equally so with my date syrup and enormous bag of dried chilli flakes.

Sadly it was all over too soon. It was however very settling to see my lovely niece in her new surroundings, to have a sense of where she is and all that she is achieving. She has been very brave to leave everything here and start afresh. She can only go from strength to strength.

If I'm lucky I will be invited to stay again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.