Snapjax

By Snapjax

The tomb of John Hives

I walked to the pool in rain and half-light, the cars had their headlights on.  I swam 20+ lengths in the medium lane with one other swimmer, his pace was greater than mine which was fine.

I took a circuitous route to the shops, taking in the old graveyard where I saw this Grade II listed tomb. In the early 19th century John Hives was a wealthy Flax-spinning mill owner who lived locally. What I enjoyed most about my experience in the graveyard was that someone stopped to ask me if I was photographing Mr Hives' Grave, I was actually losing the battle of capturing a retreating squirrel. The lady was friendly and happy to share her knowledge of the tomb and informed me that there were one or two more of worth in the graveyard.

I continued on my walk up the Norfolks, through Chapel Allerton Park then turning back on Harrogate Road to the village for food shopping.

Taken with my iPhone, I have cropped the image and changed to B&W in Lightroom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.