Richard P

By ricky_p

Race Day

Today was finally the day of the race. I entered Outlaw X back on 17th April and 162 days later it was finally upon us. I was doing it along with 11 other lads who all knew each other. None of them had done one before so even though I had only done 1, I was the expert.

It was an early start with it starting at 7AM. At 6:30 when i was organizing my transition stuff I I realized I had left my goggles and swim cap at the Airbnb. After an initial moment of panic that maybe my race was over before it had began, I ran to enquiries and managed to get a spare cap and then buy a new set of goggles from the traders open at 6:30am to take advantage of idiots like me. My swim went as expected around 33 mins

The cycle was my least enjoyable part. I was mainly being overtaken and I wasn't able to maintain my position on the aerobars for any considerable length of time. Lesson learned, practice on aerobars more in the lead up to the race. 2 hours 47 mins

The run was the most enjoyable part but I was disappointed with my time over 80 mins. Looking back now there easy gains to be made without actually needing to get any fitter.

After the race I appointed myself in charge of getting shots of everybody in our group finishing. Most people looked very tired but here L is smiling knowing all the hard work is done

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.