misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

First Apple

If you think yesterdays' blip was a disaster, today's really hit the spot.
History:
When I moved to Oxford, NY over 13 years ago and began turning the all lawn, double property into a forested garden, I was digging two raised beds. Suddenly two little tree seedlings seem to have come in for a visit from somewhere. One is a cherry and the other an apple. I had read that fruit sprouting from hybrid apples bought at the grocery store do not come true to their parents, but kept the seedling anyway..
Anyway, 13 years have passed and the trees are large and growing very near the house, offering shade. The birds love the apple tree near my bedroom window feeder. And the cats can watch the birds. Win-Win.
Much to my surprise the tree produced an apple this year for the first time. Actually three once I got out there and looked. They are too high for me to pick. The cherry has not even flowered.
But this is what the apples look like. Deformed, with some kind of dark disease on the skin. An insect drilled a hole in this one too.
But, they were free fruit trees for the garden. More for the compost bin.
(A maple leaf added for interest)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.