Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Autumn sun

It was good to be back in church for our midweek service today after such a long time away. Enjoyed a proud grandma moment showing off some baby pictures of Josie. She's doing very well and so are her besotted parents. It all seems to be coming very naturally to them.
Colin and I went down to Cockenzie to pick up some fish this afternoon and had a sandwich and cup of tea in Cockenzie House before walking along the shore to the harbour and back. We were sitting outside in the sun when Colin spotted these wonderful rays emerging from behind the cloud. For once the camera caught it well. Lots of sunshine but so much cooler than it was just a couple of weeks ago, that autumnal chill is definitely in the air.
There was plenty of bird activity as e walked along towards the harbour including quite a large group of eider ducks. The young gulls are almost adult sized now and make such a racket - I'm sure their exhausted parents must be fed up with them!
We took a roundabout route home, probably racked up an extra 3 miles but I don't think it will affect the petrol situation - which by all reports isn't really there anyway.
When we got home it was to discover that our latest packs of lateral flow tests had arrived, and hooray, they are nostril only, no more poking things onto my tonsils and trying not to be sick. I'd heard they were coming and looks like they've finally made it through to the supply chain.
No other demands on our time this evening so I'm making one of our favourites, chicken with a crème fresh and green peppercorn sauce! After that we'll settle down and watch this week's episode of Vigil. Pickle may well come and join me on the couch. She is very pleased that I have bought her a special treat of a heated throw - see extra. She may allow me to share it so long as I don't tell Cleo.
Keep safe everyone, it's so good to see the numbers continuing to drop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.