The Serendipitous Butterfly

This is not the butterfly I thought I'd be showing you on this day. The last chrysalis from yesterday is very dark now, but the butterfly hasn't eclosed yet. I guess it's taking the long path toward butterfly-hood. The nights are colder now, and some of them just need a little more time.

So my husband and I went into town on this day for errands and groceries, and that included dropping off yogurt containers at the recycling place on North Atherton. Clearwater Conservancy has a building there, surrounded by lovely plantings that are showing good fall color right now.

I spotted these gorgeous asters on our way out, and I made my husband stop the car so I could hop out and snap a few photos. And to my great surprise, who was waiting there to meet me but this lovely female monarch? Hello, serendipitous butterfly!!!!

My soundtrack song is this one: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, with You Got Lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.