Vortex

I got a message a while back saying I must renew my driving licence because the photo is too old (i.e. too young) and needs replacing. DVLA is notorious at the moment and I can confirm it is an infuriating vortex into a black hole. I have tried and tried and tried online, putting in screen after screen of information, being recognised, then having my payment refused because of 'a technical error'. I have tried three different cards, all refused. After waiting an age on the phone, listening to recorded messages, a human finally picked up and instantly dropped the line. After that the recorded message was simply that they did not have the staff to answer the phone. Several days later I managed to have a chat with a bot who told me to contact my bank.

So I gave up today and went to renew it through the Post Office at one-and-a-half times what it should cost online. I still won't get a licence until DVLA sees fit but at least I can pay the money and I am in the system. But it turned out that the Post Office is not allowed to send my application to DVLA unless it cuts up my existing licence. So now I have no driving licence and no ID to prove my address. 

Working conditions at DVLA sound abominable and I don't blame the staff for taking industrial action but it is beginning to feel as National Infrastructure (UK) plc has been run over by its handcart freewheeling hellwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.