Dawn at the Abbey

This is a blip I've posted so many times. If you get it right you can see the dawn sky through the glass-less windows of the bell tower. I'd decided to take the big camera out to see if any of the poor, lost guillemots were still on the river. No luck with the seabirds. I hope they've found their way safely downstream otherwise the outlook isn't good for them. The camera is a good one but it is so heavy. As I'd bothered to lug it around with me I'm definitely using one of the photos I took with it. They weren't that great as I find it hard to hold the camera still when I've also got Flora on her lead. Despite the lovely dawn the light wasn't otherwise helpful. It's grey and damp but SO mild.

Cameraman and M are packing up after their holiday. They should be back in Stirling about 12:00 and it will be good to have their company. I'd intended a major house clean while I had the place to myself but that somehow hasn't taken place. Another time.

Thanks for all the kind comments on my friend D's plight yesterday.  it really is a problem and not just for her of course. Guide Dogs is a voluntary organisation not a statutory service. Like all charities it has to work hard to raise funds. During the early days of the  pandemic the breeding and training programmes were suspended and are only slowly getting going. It takes a long time to get a dog ready to work with a blind owner and the match has to be carefully considered. D. needs a dog which is confident on complex journeys. At the moment she hasn't even made it on to the waiting list.  Unless something unexpected happens it's going to be a long haul for her. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.