The Awakening

We had one of the last major snowstorms of the season on Monday: about five inches of snow during the day. As is typical of these March snowstorms, it started melting almost as soon as it stopped snowing. Then, overnight, an additional little skiff of snow left bits of white clinging to every tree and post at dawn, making everything look fancy, like a million little old ladies had stayed up all night doing their tatting: white lace snow.

I awoke and saw the conditions outside and realized this day might present one of the season's very last opportunities to photograph some snow scenes. I determined to capture some photos of the Arboretum after a spring snow. And so that is exactly where I went. Girl with a camera, out on a morning prowl . . .

As I got there, the sun and clouds were playing games: clouds, then clear, then clouds, then a peek of sun. The sky was just marvelous. I took my first few shots and smiled.

And then! And then! I walked around to where the lily pond is, one of my very most favorite places in the world to take pictures during the summer. And I realized it had thawed! As I rounded a corner to approach the lily pond, the sun came out full and lovely, casting shadows everywhere. And I could see reflections on the water! My heart skipped a beat.

And then, my friends, I took ab0ut a million photos. (Well, maybe I have exaggerated a little: around two hundred.) And my heart almost burst. It was that kind of morning.

It has been such a long, long winter, and how my heart has hungered for spring. And in the lily pond and the surrounding gardens, I found it: the first signs of the awakening that means the coming of spring.

I've posted many, many photos on blip that I've taken at the Arboretum. Mostly the lily pond and its flowers and its fancy flying bugs. Some of the butterflies and bees. And we can't forget the sunflowers that I went back so many times to see during the fall. I've even blipped this tree once before, in May, surrounded by purple allium, which I presume are sleeping still.

But on this day, with the snow and the reflections, it seemed like I had gone somewhere else entirely. The Alhambra, maybe. Somewhere far away, a place full of golden, exotic colors and designs. A place full of magic.

When I got to my office and downloaded the photo set, I realized it would be hard to choose a favorite. It felt like it may have been one of my best photo shoots ever. (Like those times when you go shopping and everything is on sale, and every single item fits and makes you look taller, thinner, prettier . . . But I digress.)

This photo is the one I selected as my favorite. I like that there is not just ONE - but FOUR - trees in this shot. There is the real tree, of course. There is the shadow tree behind it on the golden wall. And in the water, there is the reflection of the real tree . . . and the reflection of the shadow tree.

And the bit of snow that remained, that clung to every branch and vine and post . . . added an almost lace effect to the scene. I suspect this particular scene will be something special that I see just one time in my life. I was blessed to be there, on this morning, with the snow and the tree (FOUR trees, three of them shadows and reflections, living only in the world of magic and imagination) and the perfect morning light.

In honor of this tree, the song to accompany the photo is the wonderful Shakin' the Tree, performed by Peter Gabriel and Youssou N'dour.

This is your life,
This new life has begun,
It's your day . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.