curns' corner

By curns

Bottles

It was back to the office today. By my count, today was the 8th time I have been in the office since March 2020. Moreover, we started a few workshops in the building on 7 June which means I’ve been in about once every 1 and a half weeks since then. Right now, that works quite well as the in-office work is very team based. I am not sure what it will be like when we have to go back and sit at a desk and do our daily work. I’m most worried about having to sit in an office but need to be on a video calls all day with somebody who is not there: it would make the commute difficult.

A colleague and I decided to grab a glass of wine after work and, for once, we both didn’t want it to turn into a bottle (or two). It did mean I missed my Tai Chi class and I probably should have some more will power and have gone to class. We took a cab from the office and taxi driver managed to ignore all our requests to stop near the bars on Waterloo Road and he took us to the taxi drop-off point round the back. But, we ended up sat outside the Fire Station bar and it was lovely - although very noticeable that nobody inside was earring a mask. We bought two glasses of wine and then headed home.

However, by the time I was home I’d managed to convince PY that we ought to use the fact that the evening was dry and not too cold to have a glass of wine outside Mora Mezza - and so we sat watching the traffic with another glass of wine. I always find the bottles in the wall of the bar fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.