A day in the life

By Shelling

Merch

This is the, slightly worn foyer at the theatre, where I was working as a host this evening. Tonights event was a lecture called "practice your inner fitness". The lecturer is apparently well known, he attracted an almost full house, nearly all women. He was good and captivated his audience for three hours, including a twenty minute coffee brake.

 I didn't know of him. Since I left work three years ago, I've lost contact with the who is who in the lecture-world but I have heard far too many a lot of feel-good lectures during my days as a teacher and I must say I recognised it all. The package had new wrapping paper but the contents felt very familiar. I honestly think he did a good job but I can't help wondering how many times we need to hear this before we make a change. There seems to be something fundamentally wrong with how we handle our relations in our working life that make us depressed, stressed, irritated and unhappy. I felt that half of his lecture was pointless if he had talked to an audience of pensioners. I felt quite pleased with myself, realising I live a much healthier life now, when I'm more in charge of creating my own routines and rules.
He's written some books that of course was for sale before and after the show and he sold really well. Good for him, and the people were happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.