Passion

Now that I have your attention:
Spent a lovely morning with The Big White Dog at the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens. Now that the crazy rush of the Summer flowering season has come and gone, things have slowed down a bit. It seems that plants which appreciate a little less glaring sunlight are beginning to strut their stuff!  I don't remember ever seeing this variety of Passion Flower  in the Gardens before. They have it labeled as a 'Purple PassionFlower' but I believe that may be incorrect. I'll double check with folks at the Gardens next time I visit. My research indicates that it's a Giant granadilla Passiflora quadrangular, a native of South America and only one of the 450 plants in the Passiflora genus. It's edible fruit is the largest of all the Passion Flowers. Whatever it is, I think it's really pretty! For more info on this Passion Flower's health benefits and culinary possibilities... look HERE.
 A Wonderful Weekend to All! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.