How it all Began...

Since I spent my day painting today, and I didn't want to blip my painting this time because it is so close to being finished and I want to finish it before I take another photo of it, I needed to think of something else to photograph. This painting hangs in our hall. As I passed this afternoon I took a close look and knew what I would do. I would make this piece of art my blip for today. It is all art work I did as a child, lovingly saved and framed by my father.

The earliest work is the family drawing that I did in first grade or kindergarten, I'm not sure which. I was around five at the time. It is of my father, my mother, me, my brother Dave, Freckles and Reggie, our two cocker spaniels. Steve was not born yet. My father loved this family drawing and often commented on it. He loved that the adults had shoes and the kids were barefoot, that parents had arms but kids didn't, how everybody had a big happy smile. I remember his pleasure with this drawing from way back.

The background is made from pieces I did at home when I was in the fourth or fifth grade. The fading ones are purple or black water color over crayon designs. I can actually remember making them. The two white paper cuts I did around the same time. Dad saved it all and then put it all together later. He had it hanging in his study at home. When we cleaned out my parents home in preparation to sell it, this was still there. I am so happy that I now have it in my house. Every time I see it I think of my father.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.