In Remembrance

Nearly Armistice Day and Remembrance parades, although we, in the Royal British Legion, believe that every day is Remembrance Day.
The Western Front Association sent me the usual two 'In Remembrance' crosses for Trooper Victor George Lane, died Jul 9th 1919 and Bombardier John 'Jack' Herbert, died Nov 9th 1918 at the VAD hospital Bristol. 
Victor was in the Gloucestershire Hussars Yeomanry whilst Jack was probably with the Royal Artillery, but his grave doesn't say.

Each year I receive the crosses and put them on the graves at St Catherines church, Matson, Gloucester. I tidy them while I'm at it, took the battery strimmer, weed killer (for Jack's grave after pulling up what I could), and my beret which I can don to step back and give them a salute. 
Photos are Left 'Before', Right 'After'.
Heroes? I doubt they would think of themselves in that way but they certainly would have had a dreadful time over on the mainland of Europe during WW1. Both died of their injuries sustained in battle as far as I can find out.
Jack was 24, Victor was only 17. Such a terrible waste of young lives.

In other news, had my 3rd, The Booster, vaccination this afternoon.
Plus, talking to Marlane and I noticed the sunlight on the trees across the 'main' road. It's only a two lane road but it gets a lot of traffic morning and afternoon, especially at school times.
I took a photo and stuck it in as an extra. Have to be careful, only got 7 left!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.