Town Hall

Tuesday 26th October 2021

I had to go to the Town Hall today (or rather, the temporary relocated office next door) to see the Registrar. A significant and historic moment as I took back the wedding registers for the last one to be closed and the remaining blank certificates to be destroyed. Changes to the marriage registration process earlier this year means I will never write a marriage certificate out again and my signature will not appear on any future marriage certificates. It was quite poignant. Not just mine obviously, this applies everywhere. They've become very clinically typed versions from now on. I do like to think though of all those marriage registers I've signed over 21 years of ministry still being in the archives in years to come, a part of history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.