Back Rock Cottage Star Trails

One of the 'joys' of living in Scotland is that you need to take opportunities for good weather when they arise. A couple of days ago I saw that the forecast was for really clear skies in the west of Scotland so I booked myself into a B&B and headed into wondrous Glencoe.

This wasn't the shot I was initially thinking of as I was going to head to Glen Etive and capture the reflections of the loch, however, when I got there the brilliant moonlight was right in the way of the stars and the other obstacle was a couple of deer who just didn't want to move from the pathway to the loch edge no matter how close I got and I didn't fancy being pushed into the water in the middle of the night by an angry stag.

On the way back home, I had the most fabulous encounter with an owl which was following the line of the road as it flew in hunt of prey so I managed to see an owl in flight for about 30 seconds alongside the car. Shortly after another owl was flying towards the car and I saw the fearsome sight of one of these amazing birds head on, flying at speed - stunning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.