Mother Shipton

By MotherShipton

Arichonan Township

A busy day today entertaining the family. We spent the morning at a most unusual photography exhibition at the old Piggery, Taynish NNR. An outdoor exhibition in the most stunning place with great wildlife photography.

Yummy lunch at Tayvallich cafe and chocolate bread and butter pudding to die for.

Finished off by going to Arichonan township on the way home. The sun was shining and as I took some shots the family played around. It would have been great had I not lost my children as I assumed they had returned to the car. When I got to the car they were not there and I had to climb the hill again in a panic to find them waiting patiently in the township for me.

Some info on Arichonan for those interested, worth a visit because it has great views.

From Gleann a Gealbhan car park cross the public road and follow the old single track through the wood taking you up to Arichonan Village.

The township of Arichonan was the largest and most important of a group of five townships extending to Loch Crinan in the north.

It is still in remarkable condition from amongst the ruins there are beautiful views down to Caol Scotnish and Loch Sween beyond. It was abandoned during the Highland Clearences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.