Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

My girl, Lola Malu

When she first awakens in the morning and sees me for the first time, she smiles. I don't mean she simply wags her tail, which is a dog's typical way of smiling, but I mean she smiles as we do, raising the corners of her mouth, showing her teeth. I've never seen a dog actually grin, but my Lola Malu does it everyday.

In little more than a week Lola will turn one year old. Her mom was our next door neighbor so I had the joy of seeing Lola within 24 hours after she was born. I don't think I'll ever forget the site of Kona (Lola's mom) laying on her side with eight very tiny, very pudgy brown babies plugged in, on their backs, feet waggling in the air, all nursing with gusto, and every one of them wagging their teeny new tails. If only I had been an active blipper at that time!

Lola's grown into such a lovely dog. Lean, muscular, smart and athletic, with a heart as big as you can imagine.

The whimsical dog in the painting above was featured in our vet's exam room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.