WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Damp squibs

I was hoping to do a bonfire night blip today, but I took the small camera, set it to auto, and 100% of the few photos I took were unusable. So here's my millionaire's shortbread instead. I took it to S and R's party along with the parkin I made earlier. I have to say the shortbread was much more popular than the parkin, which I guess is an acquired taste.

S and R had prepared some conkers in order to give our French neighbours something to do. But I think French conkers must be different from British ones, because they whacked them in vain without any of them cracking. In the end, S stamped on his to bring the game to an end. Meanwhile our French friends stood around shaking their heads at ces fous d'anglais avec leurs traditions bizarres. We had already had to explain to them why we have a bonfire on 5 November. Actually it was far too windy for a bonfire, so R had lit a fire of very dry wood in an oil drum, which was shooting flames metres into the air, sparks flying everywhere. Everyone gave it a wide berth, and R kept going and hosing down the swimming pool cover so it wouldn't melt.

Later, R and G gave us a firework display. Probably also due to the wind, they were pétards mouillés/damp squibs. One after another they launched themselves feebly into the air with a mild squeal before spiralling quietly into the nearest flowerbed. The laughter of the onlookers was louder than the fireworks. A good time was had by all.

It was the first really chilly night and we had an early start in the morning, so we were off home by 10:30.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.