1YearInAddis

By 1YearInAddis

Eel and snake

This is a photo of a small eel and a small sea snake, taken on the north end of the island of Mahe, in the Seychelles. It isn't an underwater photo (well, I wasn't underwater, at least). I spotted the eel first, in a tidal pool near shore. He was hiding in a hole in some quite porous rock. Eventually the snake came out of another hole and started to check him (or her ) out. Trying to get a photo, I couldn't really always see what the two of them were doing, but our daughter says the eel was trying to eat the snake. I think each wanted to make a meal of the other, but they were too evenly matched. Eventually the snake slithered back in his hole. While we could see bits of his body through other holes, he didn't re-emerge while we watched.

I could have spent all day there, there was so much life - fish, sea cucumbers, stars, etc, but we had a plane to catch, and lunch to eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.