Marionb

By Marionb

Don't Even Ask....

...I did.. but I still don't have all the answers...

I had been wanting to visit the Robert McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa for quite sometime and as I had to go to the library next door to it today, this was the day. 

Unfortunately a parking issue arose - the Pay Parking lot meters only take coin - no credit cards allowed and I had no coins - who carries coin these days?  By chance, a coin was donated - long story - but it would only buy me 30 minutes. 30 minutes to see an entire art gallery? Geez..but I was determined to try.

Quel surpris...I was in luck..Much of the gallery was closed due to renovations and so there were only two exhibits open! Perhaps 30 minutes would suffice. 

The first exhibit was by Ron Eccles, a local artist who paints geometric and structured abstracts inspired by the local landscape, weather patterns and seasonal colours. (see extra). I quite enjoyed them in passing - quickly passing - they were in a hallway en route to the second exhibit and I had wasted several of my 30 minutes going through the COVID protocol interview, showing my QR code and providing a contact name and phone number lest there be an exposure. 

When I finally got to the second exhibit, I thought I had stumbled into the wrong room - one of those closed galleries under construction? ...but I was curious and stepped in anyway. There was no-one there..just these mirrored panels and a few things on the wall. I wandered through, trying to figure out what it was all about but had no idea what I was looking at. I finally swallowed my pride and went to ask...which is always a good idea. 

Seems this exhibit was created by a charitable organization called Tangled Art+ Disability whose mission is "to support disability-identified artists and to enhance access to the arts for artists and audiences of all abilities." Obviously an organization worth supporting! 

This particular exhibit, called Undeliverable,  displays the work of 6 artists of varying disabilities. The items I saw on the wall were created by an Indigenous artist and represented the skills and crafts handed down from one generation to another in her family - beading, quill work and the use of natural dyes. The gathering-place mirrors were the contribution of the curator.  It was only one room of two...There was much more to see...and I thought it would be really interesting now that I had a better idea of what it was about...but my time was up. 

No matter...I will go back to see the rest another day  - but I will go with coins.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.