pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Defence

It’s been spoken of for quite a while now, but in recent days it looks like some action is finally starting to take place as Kendal seeks to defend itself against flooding.

I have mixed feelings on this. On the one hand, the pragmatic need to reduce the risk of a river flowing through your home one day and on the other, the wilful destruction of trees along the river bank to make way for said flood defences. For those of us river adjacent, we elected to roll the dice and live there. Did we not do so at our own risk? Or do we have a reasonable expectation of not having an impromptu water feature in our living room every few years? 

Like I say, mixed feelings.

I was delighted to see some joggers who were as confused as I was about the closure of the river path, turn on their heel and follow the pedestrian path through the residential estate. I may – shock horror – have to change my running route.

The day finished with what has become a regular Thursday feature, which is a couple of glasses of red in good company in The Factory Tap. Also near the river.

I may have also fallen asleep in front of the John Woo classic; Face/Off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.