Cocking Churchyard

The sun shone this morning, all the time we were packing boxes. By the time we ventured out to walk round the village, the sun had disappeared and the usual grey sky took over. Still, the sight of masses of primroses in the church yard lifted the spirits.

Called at our local tearoom on the way back, Moonlight Cottage, just re-opened after 6 months of refurbishment following a burst pipe flood last year. Lovely blue and white cottagey décor and delish cakes. Good job, Sue and Steve.

Men's tennis final soon .... dinner on our knees in front of telly, yum! Just have to try not to spill Indian food on the cream carpet just before we move out ...

Thought this poem about the primrose was highly suitable for today.


Primrose

Upon a bank I sat, a child made seer
Of one small primrose flowering in my mind.
Better than wealth it is, I said, to find
One small page of Truth's manuscript made clear.
I looked at Christ transfigured without fear--
The light was very beautiful and kind,
And where the Holy Ghost in flame had signed
I read it through the lenses of a tear.
And then my sight grew dim, I could not see
The primrose that had lighted me to Heaven,
And there was but the shadow of a tree
Ghostly among the stars. The years that pass
Like tired soldiers nevermore have given
Moments to see wonders in the grass.


Patrick Kavanagh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.