a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Whirlybird

You really have to laugh.  

I originally thought that I would be blipping my Niece Charlie today, as we were invited up to Charfield to lunch at my sisters.  Or if not Charlie perhaps Incredibish (he's generally pretty reliable as a blip subject), or maybe my sister Janet. 

But its been one of those strange scatty days on Planet Janet that you get every now and then, which after all these years I ought to be ready for but which still manage to take me by surprise :-)

When Cathy and I knocked at the door of Janet's home at the appointed hour we were met by a bemused and embarassed Incredibish, Janet being out.  It seemed that Charlie had developed a bad cold and Janet had decided that it was sensible to cancel the family lunch. Poor Charlie did look to be suffering, and even if it was just a cold, neither Cathy or I fancied getting it, so cancelling was definitely the right decision.

Janet just hadn't quite got around to telling us that she'd cancelled lunch.  She'd intended to do so, but what with one thing and another, somehow she hadn't got around to it.  Instead, she had written, but not actually sent, a WhatsApp message telling us of the cancellation.  She did eventually remember to send her message, but not until we finally returned home.

Of course, this story will now be added to the many others that go with the legend that is my sister, to keep us all in stitches during future family meals. 

So instead of a picture of my sister the whirlybird, here's a chinook for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.