JustSally

By JustSally

Lonesome pine

I had my booster jab at 9.30 this morning in a village hall about half an hour away. It was a beautiful morning, so we did a detour up onto Ranmore Common on the way home. It is a beautiful spot, so the car park was almost full and there were lots of walkers and cyclists everywhere.
It wasn’t nearly as busy on the day I was given a surprise birthday picnic here on my 50th birthday. I was taken out in the car on a false errand and was amazed to find on arrival at this spot that there was a gathering of my friends and neighbours. It was a tea party organised by my two children who had invited my friends and neighbours and prepared a lovely tea and drinks, together with a birthday cake. It wasn’t very warm, and I think my friends thought it was a bit weird, but anything my daughter organised tended to be weird. It was a memorable occasion. The extra photo shows the site of the party. I don’t think there were picnic tables there then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.