Abstract Thursday: Texture

Ingeborg has set "Texture" as today's optional AT theme and I do like the textures in this rather weird material, as well as the abstract patterns.

It's a natural subject too, no fartnarkling required. We had our roof replaced 2 years ago for recurrent leaks, with good effect. Well, a few weeks ago I was poking around in a rarely visited part of the loft (as you do) when I spotted some yellow-brown material stuck to some of the beams: I was concerned that it could potentially be some dry rot resulting from the previous leaks, although the wood seemed sound so I wasn't at all sure. We have a wet and dry rot insurance policy so I emailed some photos to the company and this morning a very nice chap came to inspect it. After having a good look at it he was certain it was actually the remnants of an old dormant wasps' nest - so nothing to worry about. This is a tiny fragment thereof. The intricacy of wasps nests are amazing and seemingly they can be enormous - the guy told me that he's seen one as big as a dustbin! - that must have required an awful lot of wasp mouthfuls of chewed up wood although the layers are very thin, like textured paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.